Successful completion of an approved California traffic violator school effectively results in the traffic violation being dismissed. There will still be a conviction on your record but it will be "confidential." This means that there will not be a point assessed to your California DMV driving record and insurance companies should not be able to view the record of it. This law applies for all non-commercial drivers.
The rules are different for commercial drivers. Those that receive a ticket in their personal vehicle may also attend traffic school to prevent a point from going on their driving record. However, the information is not hidden from insurance companies. This means that your insurance company can still increase your rates.
Drivers are eligible to attend traffic school for one violation every 18 months. If you receive a second violation within 18 months of the date that you received the first traffic ticket, you are not traffic school eligible. If you are not eligible for traffic school a conviction will result in a point or points going on your driving record.
Only one point moving violations are eligible for traffic school. You can read more about what violations are not eligible on our previous traffic blog post.